The IEEE Kenya Section received approval for its formation on 19th November, 1982.

The IEEE Kenya section received its charter in 1990 and forms part of IEEE’s worldwide member and geographic activities, which provide unique opportunities to attend technical presentations, create strong peer-to-peer connections, and to participate in leadership opportunities that can make a positive distinction in IEEE members’ jobs and careers.

The IEEE Kenya Section brings together and coordinates technical and networking activities for IEEE members that reside within Kenya, with a vision to be the technical professional’s best resource for achieving life-long career vitality and providing an effective voice on policy and regulatory issues. The section has implemented programs and has been involved in advocating for policies intended to serve and benefit the members, the profession and the general public in Kenya.

Today IEEE Kenya Section has over 250 active members from Student members to Life Members including seasoned professionals. The Section’s headquarters are in Nairobi. There are several societies and affinity groups in the Section.

Below are the active Organisational Units (OUs) within the Kenya Section:

  1. Affinity Groups: Young Professionals (YP), Women in Engineering (WIE) and Special Interest Group in Humanitarian Technologies (SIGHT)
  2. Societies: Computer Society, Communications Society and Power and Energy Society.
  3. Student Branches (SBs): Kenya Section SB, Moi University SB, University of Nairobi SB, Jomo Kenyatta University of Science & Technology (JKUAT) SB and Masinde Muliro University of Science & Technology (MMUST)